Lx Factory Artists' District
and the Cristo Rei

A few kilometres from Lisbon

Previously you may have seen our Lisbon visit in 3 days we visited the surroundings of Lisbon with the trendy LX Factory district and a visit to the Christo Rei . What do these two places have in common? Each one is located at the end of the April 25th bridge  It takes about 15 minutes by car to get to these two places. 
First we'll talk about the neighborhood Lx Factory and then Cristo Rei of Lisbon. Folk-Travel tells you everything.

How to get to Lx Factory

For starters, if you love art, coffee, creativity and good food then the LX Factory neighborhood is for you. Located under the famous April 25th bridge, a bit like the "Golden Gate" bridge with a lisbote sauce. Lx Factory is located in the Alcantara district pretty far from downtown. Depending on traffic, you can be there in a few minutes. 

To get there from Cais do Sodré (Lisbon's quays) we took the bus 15E for 2€ stop at the Algés stop and you will see the entrance 100 meters on the left. You can also take the Tram to the Calvario stop. 
For the sportsmen, who would be willing to go there on foot along the waterfront to the bridge of April 25, it takes no less than 3 km walk.  Of course, you can opt to go to the LX Factory district in Uber

What to do at Lx Factory

What is Lx Factory? If you want to sum up this neighborhood, it's sort of a place for artistic entertainment. In the district of Alcantara was located a textile and food processing factory, the name of this factory LX. Today it has been transformed into several restaurants, shops, bookshops, cafes, creative spaces and even pleasant coworking areas. We went there for an afternoon in May when it was over 35°C, the heat was stifling and a market was organized. The ideal opportunity to refresh ourselves with a freshly mixed fruit juice in front of our eyes.
LX Factory market
LX Factory Main Aisle Marketplace

Lx Factory Gift Shops

We didn't expect to find so many original souvenir shops in a rehabilitated place. The area is clean and tidy with several terraces where locals and tourists alike come to stroll.
We fell in love with the furniture shops that you can't find anywhere, you can have home accessories delivered or pack them in your suitcase.  We recommend:

- The furniture shops : Muito Muito of the vintage deco we love it, Kare or June.
- A shoe shop Portuguese : Nae
- Taking care of yourself with the organic and ethical beauty shop : Organii

LX-Factory-marche-lisbonne
Canned sardines shop

Street-Art Lx Factory

If there's one thing that struck us at Lx Factory it's the reign of Street Art! Free of charge we get a lot of it. Have fun looking for as much of it as you can, whether it's graffiti decorating the walls at the back of the old factory buildings in the shade or graffiti in full light.

Street Art LxFactory Lisbon

The most beautiful bookstore Ler Devagar

What could be better than settling down here in this amazing bookstore in Lx Factory. It used to be located in the Bairro Alto district.  Now it's located in an old printing house. There is a wide choice of reading material, the bookshop even organizes several events and concerts. Ler Devagar has thus become one of the 10 most beautiful bookstores in the world.

We were amazed by the size of the place, and the huge stairs. You can still see several printing machines. In the center you will see the flying bicycle and thousands of books. But stay there for a coffee while you read a book. It feels really good but we didn't have enough time to linger there. Let's continue our visit of Lx Factory with the best restaurants in Lx Factory.

Ler Devagar Bookstore

Eating at Lx Factory

There's no need to go back to the centre of Lisbon, or to bring your sandwiches to Lx Factory, as the choice of food is so vast and there really is something for everyone. Folk-Travel introduces you to all the restaurants in Lx Factory, cafes or to take the dessert we enjoyed while passing by :

- drink an excellent coffee at WISH Slow Coffee House or at Café Na Fabrica
- enjoy a delicious cheesecake : Lxeesecake
- an ice cream or a pancake: Chef Nino - Creperie & Gelataria
- taste authentic Portuguese dishes at the 1300 Taberna or at Cantina with its wood-burning oven
- go vegan in The Therapist you can't miss it all in red.
- chicken lovers should definitely try the Cucurio and for hot dog lovers at the Dogs In Lisbon in the Burger Factory section.

 

Restaurant-LX-factory-lisbonne
Restaurant The Therapist

Visit the Cristo Rei (Christ the King)

Let's leave Lx Factory for another must-see place in Lisbon: "I am a gigantic statue of Jesus, I stand south of downtown Lisbon on the other side of the Tagus at 215 meters above sea level in the district of Almada, I am... I am... I am... the... Cristo Rei of course!

Usually you will see his full name: Sanctuary of Christ the King (Sanctuario Nacional de Cristo Rei) but many people call him Christ the Redeemer in reference to the statue in Rio de Janeiro. It stands on the other side of the Tagus opening its arms to welcome the city with open arms. It took 10 years to build this monument, inaugurated in 1959 as a thank you to Portugal for not entering the Second World War.

In short, whether or not you're a practitioner, the view alone is worth the detour! 

 

How to get to Cristo Rei

The most tempting option would be to take a taxi or an Uber but we do not recommend it because you have to take the April 25th bridge, where the traffic is the heaviest, and you will have an extra cost as you leave the area. So the most convenient and pleasant way is to take the ferry from Cais do Sodre to Cacilhas.

You have crossings every 10 minutes to 30 minutes for €1.30 (to be topped up on the Viva Viagem card €0.50). The journey takes only 10 minutes with a magnificent view. Find the ferry schedule to Cristo Rei here.

Once you've landed at Cacilhas Dock, you can either walk to Cristo Rei 3km of walk and in altitude in a district without much interest, we do not advise it to you. Take bus 101 in the large parking lot at the third bus aisle, the ticket can be bought from the driver 1,50€. He will drop you off in front of the entrance, you will have to walk a bit, there are toilets on the left side for free, and a small snack (tourist prices) to quench your thirst.

You also have an ATM in front of the toilets, but beware of the fixed ATM fee of €3.95! As you have to pay cash for the entrance ticket, please bring cash with you beforehand.

Alternative You can take the panoramic lift Boca do Vento at 15 mn walk from the Ferry, follow the shore with the Tagus on your right, for 1€ ring the bell and the caretaker will open the lift which will take you to the top.

 

Cristo Rei Lisbon
Cristo Rei

Guide to Cristo Rei

You can see the statue of Cristo Rei from the entrance. You can approach it for free and then go behind it towards the edge to see the Tagus and especially the magnificent April 25th Bridge replica of the Golden Gate in San Francisco.  Free of charge you can also visit the church inside and admire some of its works and relics.

Stroll around in the Cristo Rei Park, Many olive trees are planted there, in the hot weather we regretted not finding many shadows. We enjoyed walking along the cliff and taking pictures with the panoramic view just under Christ the King!

Take some height on the observation platform the entrance is 5€ a lift takes you to the top in small groups. The remaining climb on foot is narrow, at the top the view is grandiose in spite of fences for safety. It is fun to take a selfie with Christ above us with open arms. It is hard to imagine that we are at the foot of a statue weighing more than 40,000 tons.

Do we absolutely have to go to the top of Cristo Rei? Without a doubt it is with a big yes that Folk-Travel recommends it to you, as the best view of Lisbon

April 25th Bridge
Pin on Pinterest
Lx Factory à Lisbonne que fair

Founders of Folk-Travel

⛰️ Globetrotters and landscape photographer. We had a passion in common when we met, that of great landscapes.  It was enough for us to travel all over the world in search of the most beautiful photogenic spots. We take time for details, authenticity while remaining natural. Back from our road-trips we reveal our best places.
 We take time for details and authenticity while remaining natural. Back from our road-trips we reveal our best places.

Article published on : 

S’abonner
Notifier de
guest
0 Commentaires
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Receive our best travel tips and free guide

Folk-Travel.com © 2020. All rights reserved Florence and Xavier

0
Une question? Nous remercier ? c'est icix
()
x
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_USEnglish

Quartier des Artistes Lx Factory
et le Cristo Rei

A quelques kilomètres de Lisbonne

Précédemment vous avez pu voir notre visite à Lisbonne en 3 jours après nous avons visité les alentours de Lisbonne avec des incontournables comme le quartier branché LX Factory  et la visite au Christo Rei . Quel est le point en commun de ces deux lieux ? Chacun se trouve à l’extrémité du pont du 25 Avril  En voiture comptez 15 minutes pour vous rendre à ces deux endroits. 
D’abord nous parlerons du quartier Lx Factory puis du Cristo Rei de Lisbonne. Folk-Travel vous dit tout.

Comment se rendre à Lx Factory

Pour commencer, si vous aimez l’art, le café, les créations et la bonne nourriture alors le quartier LX Factory est fait pour vous. Situé sous le fameux pont du 25 Avril un peu le pont “Golden Gate” à la sauce lisboète. Lx Factory se trouve dans le quartier d’Alcantara plutôt éloigné du centre-ville. Selon le trafic, vous pouvez y être en quelques minutes. 

Pour y aller depuis Cais do Sodré (les quais de Lisbonne) nous avons pris le bus 15E pour 2€ arrêtez-vous à l’arrêt Algés puis vous verrez l’entrée à 100 mètres sur la gauche. Vous pouvez aussi prendre le Tram jusqu’à l’arrêt Calvario. 
Pour les sportifs, qui seraient partant pour s’y rendre à pied en longeant le front de mer jusqu’au pont du 25 avril, il faut pas moins de 3 km de marche.  Bien entendu, vous pouvez opter pour vous rendre dans le quartier LX Factory en Uber.

Que faire à Lx Factory

Qu’est ce que Lx Factory ? Si on veut résumer ce quartier c’est en quelque sorte un lieu de divertissement artistique. Dans le quartier d’Alcantara se situait une usine de textile et de transformation alimentaire le nom de cette usine LX. Aujourd’hui elle a été transformée en plusieurs restaurants, boutiques, librairies, cafés, des espaces créatifs même des espaces coworking agréables. Nous y sommes allé pendant une après midi en mai il faisait plus de 35°C la chaleur était étouffante et un marché était organisé. L’occasion idéale de se rafraichir avec un jus de fruits frais mixés devant nos yeux.
marché LX Factory
Marché dans l'allée principale LX Factory

Boutiques de souvenirs Lx Factory

Nous ne pensions pas trouver autant de boutiques de souvenirs originales dans un lieu réhabilité. Le quartier est propre et bien rangé avec plusieurs terrasses partout où viennent y flâner aussi bien les locaux que les touristes.
On a craqué sur les boutiques de meubles qu’on ne trouve nulle part, il est possible de se faire livrer ou d’embarquer dans sa valise des accessoires pour la maison.  Nous vous recommandons :

– Les boutiques de meubles : Muito Muito de la déco vintage à tomber Kare ou encore Juin.
– Une boutique de chaussures Portuguaise : Nae
– Prendre soin de vous avec la boutique beauté bio et éthique : Organii

LX-Factory-marche-lisbonne
Boutique de conserves de sardines

Street-Art Lx Factory

S’il y a bien quelque chose qui nous a frappé à Lx Factory c’est le règne du Street Art ! Gratuitement on en prend plein les yeux. Amusez-vous à en chercher le maximum que ce soit des graffitis qui ornent les murs à l’arrière des anciens bâtiments de l’usine à l’ombre que les graffitis en pleine lumière.

street-art-lxfactory-lisboa

La plus belle librairie Ler Devagar

Quoi de mieux que de nous poser ici dans cette librairie étonnante dans Lx Factory. Il faut savoir qu’avant elle était situé dans le quartier Bairro Alto.  Maintenant elle est situé dans une ancienne imprimerie. Le choix de lecture est vaste, la librairie organise même plusieurs événements et concerts. La Ler Devagar est ainsi devenue l’une des 10 plus belles librairies du monde.

On a été étonné par la grandeur du lieu, et l’escalier énorme. Vous pouvez voir encore plusieurs machines d’imprimerie. Au centre vous verrez le vélo volant et des milliers de livres. Mais restez y pour y boire un café tout en lisant un livre. On s’y sent vraiment bien mais nous n’avions pas assez de temps pour nous y attarder. Poursuivons notre visite de Lx Factory avec les meilleurs restaurants à Lx Factory.

Librairie Ler Devagar

Se restaurer à Lx Factory

Il n’y a nul besoin de retourner au centre de Lisbonne, ou d’amener ses sandwichs à Lx Factory, tellement le choix en nourriture est vaste et vraiment il y a en pour tous les goûts. Folk-Travel vous présente tous les restaurants à Lx Factory, cafés ou pour prendre le dessert que nous avons apprécié en passant devant :

– boire un excellent café au WISH Slow Coffee House ou au Café Na Fabrica
– déguster un cheesecake à tomber : Lxeesecake
– une glace ou une crêpe : Chef Nino – Crêperie & Gelataria
– goûter à des plats authentiques portugais au 1300 Taberna ou au Cantina avec son four à bois
– se mettre au végétalisme au The Therapist vous ne pouvez pas le rater tout en rouge
– les amateurs de poulet doivent absolument gouter au Cucurio et pour les amateurs de hot-dogs au Dogs In Lisbon dans la partie Burger Factory.

 

Restaurant-LX-factory-lisbonne
Restaurant The Therapist

Visiter le Cristo Rei (Christ Roi)

Quittons Lx Factory pour un autre endroit incontournable à Lisbonne : “Je suis une statue gigantesque de Jésus , je me dresse au sud du centre-ville de Lisbonne de l’autre côté du Tage à 215 mètres d’altitude dans le quartier d’Almada, je suis.. je suis… Le Cristo Rei bien sûr !

Généralement vous verrez son nom complet : Sanctuaire du Christ Roi (Sanctuario Nacional de Cristo Rei) mais beaucoup de personnes le surnomment comme le Christ Rédempteur en référence à la statue à Rio de Janeiro. Elle se trouve de l’autre côté du Tage ouvrant les bras accueillant la ville à bras ouverts. Il a fallu 10 ans pour construire ce monument inauguré en 1959 en remerciement au Portugal de ne pas être entré dans la seconde guerre mondiale.

Bref que l’on soit pratiquant ou non, la vue à elle seule mérite le détour ! 

 

Comment aller au Cristo Rei

Le plus tentant serait de prendre un taxi ou un Uber mais nous ne vous le recommandons car il faut emprunter le pont du 25 avril, là où la circulation est la plus dense, de plus vous aurez un surcout car vous sortez de la  zone. Ainsi le moyen le plus pratique et agréable est de prendre le ferry depuis Cais do Sodre pour Cacilhas.

Vous avez des traversées toutes les 10 minutes à 30 minutes pour 1,30€ (à recharger sur la carte Viva Viagem 0,50€). Le trajet prend que 10 minutes avec une vue magnifique. Retrouvez les horaires du ferry pour aller au Cristo Rei ici.

Une fois débarqué au quai Cacilhas, vous pouvez soit aller à pied jusqu’au Cristo Rei 3km de marge et en altitude dans un quartier sans grand intérêt, nous ne vous le conseillons pas. Prenez le bus 101 sur le grand parking au niveau de la troisième allée de bus, le ticket s’achète auprès du chauffeur 1,50€. Il vous dépose ainsi devant l’entrée, il vous faudra marcher un peu, là des toilettes sont disponibles sur le côté gauche gratuitement, et un petit snack (prix touristiques) pour se désaltérer.

Vous avez aussi un distributeur de billet en face des toilettes, mais attention au frais fixes de l’ATM de 3,95€ ! Vu qu’il faut régler en espèces le billet d’entrée, munissez-vous d’espèces avant.

Alternative : vous pouvez prendre l’ascenseur panoramique Boca do Vento à 15 mn à pied du Ferry suivez le rivage avec le Tage sur votre droite, pour 1€ sonnez la cloche et le gardien vous ouvrira l’ascenceur qui vous mènera ainsi au sommet.

 

Cristo-rei-lisbonne
Cristo Rei

Guide sur le Cristo Rei

Vous voyez depuis l’entrée la statue du Cristo Rei. Vous pouvez gratuitement vous y approcher puis aller derrière vers le bord pour voir le Tage et surtout le magnifique Pont du 25 Avril réplique du Golden Gate de San Francisco.  Gratuitement vous pouvez aussi visiter l’église qui se trouve à l’intérieur et admirer quelques oeuvres et reliques.

Baladez-vous aussi dans le parc du Cristo Rei, beaucoup d’oliviers y sont plantés, par forte chaleur nous avons regretté de ne pas trouver beaucoup d’ombres. On a aimé marcher le long de la falaise et prendre des photos avec la vue sur panoramique juste sous le Christ Roi !

Prenez de la hauteur sur la plateforme d’observation l’entrée est à 5€ un ascenseur vous amène au sommet par petits groupes. La montée restante à pied est exiguë , en haut la vue est grandiose malgré des grillages par sécurité. On s’amuse à se prendre en selfie avec le Christ au-dessus de nous les bras ouverts. On a du mal à s’imaginer qu’on est au pied d’une statue de plus de 40.000 tonnes.

Faut t’il absolument se rendre en haut du Cristo Rei ? Sans conteste c’est avec un grand oui que Folk-Travel vous le recommande comme la plus belle vue de Lisbonne

Pont du 25 avril
Epingler sur Pinterest
Lx Factory à Lisbonne que fair
S’abonner
Notifier de
guest
0 Commentaires
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Une question? Nous remercier ? c'est icix
()
x