Lanzarote through our road trip to the Canary Islands

Where did we land? The American West, the Omani Desert? This volcanic island, only 3 hours by plane, has something surprising: the island of Lanzarote.  An island much less touristic than the other Canary Islands. 

Nevertheless when we arrive we are first of all delayed with 1 hour less than an hour, then the grandiose landscapes, the white architecture signed César Manrique, the roads coming out of nowhere planted in the black volcanic rock and the deep blue beaches. We present you our favourite places and our best pictures of Lanzarote's landscape during our road trip of this island during 6 days and its neighbour Fuerteventura.

Our aim is not to introduce you to the known tourist places Folk-Travel has vocation to get off the beaten track.

How to get to Lanzarote?

We took a direct flight to Lanzarote from Bordeaux Airport with Easyjet, which operates 2 flights a week on Mondays and Thursdays from 18/05/2020 to 22/10/2020. To reach Arrecife, our flight took 3 hours.

To leave the car in the car park during our holidays we used the ZenPark application, so we have a dedicated space and we can find our vehicle serenely.

On the spot, we opted for a car rental but there is a bus network that serves the whole island. ArrecifeBus

An island where the human impact is discreet.

The first thing that strikes you is to see many colourful abstract works as soon as you arrive at the airport by the same signed artist. César Manrique It should be known that without him this island would be just a pile of ashes and a field of ruins as some tourists wrongly characterized it.

You will not see large hotel complexes with more than 2 floors on Lanzarote (except in the south of the island).

The white houses contrast with the black volcanic rock, some with pink bougainvilleas make the landscape dreamlike. This makes This island was the first to be classified in its entirety as a "Biosphere Reserve" by UNESCO in 1994.

Lanzarote is also an island on earth where the climate is at its mildest all year round. Not too hot, not too cold and rain is rare. Across the Sahara, the island can be prone to sandstorms, but they're rare.

What to do or see in Lanzarote?

We present you our road trip from the north to the south of the island: a car rental is essential, the roads are in remarkable conditionReally, it's a joy to drive through this breathtaking scenery.

To rent a car in Lanzarote, we have chosen the local Lanzarote agency Cicar This makes it easy to take the vehicle north and leave it south at another agency.

We thus left the vehicle at playa Blanca before putting on the ferry for the second part of our road trip: the discovery of another island of the canaries: Fuerteventura, find our article soon.

Please Note By renting the vehicle you are not insured on unpaved roads. This is the case of the majority of places to see as Papagoyo (you are warned).
- opt instead for an SUV your comfort will be better, especially on some twisty tracks.

Visit the north of the island: coves and villages of Lanzarote

The Mirador del Rio

This point of view is the highest of the island and allows to admire in front of the magnificent Graciosa Island . From the morning, the island of Graciosa is bathed in sunshine with turquoise blue waters and salt marshes at the foot of the watchtower.

There is no need to go to the paying area (4,50€), you can admire the view for free on the left side. Being the highest point, it is very windy and the fresh wind can get chilly very quickly, especially when there's little cover because the temperature below is mild.

On the way, you can do the Cactus Garden in Guatiza ...but the influx of tourists has made us give it up. Tariff 2019 : 5,80€.

Graciosa Island

Translucent Beaches: Caleton Blanco

Don't miss the natural swimming pool beaches starting from Orzola first you will find the Caleton Blanco Beach then the one in Caleta del Mojon Blanco. Our favorite was Caleton Blanco! The white sand makes the water as milky white and transparent, never seen before. Not very deep you can walk far, ideal for children.

We advise you to get there early as the parking lot is quickly taken over as well as the volcanic stone castles to shelter from the wind lying on the sand.

The flowered house Casa Carmelina

Located on the east coast above Arrieta, Punta Mujeres has two natural swimming pools but also a small colourful house with its vertical hanging vegetable garden : Casa Carmelina .

This small white house contrasts with its green paint and hanging plants. Held by an elderly lady, be respectful of the place and the locals! Do not touch, admire with respect.

Natural pools in Punta Mujeres

Just upriver from the plant house you have a large natural pool whose water comes in with the tide and is warmed by the sun. 

The village of a thousand palm trees: Haria

Start by walking along the Leon y Castillo Square bordered by palm trees, oleanders and eucalyptus. Then head to the constitution square is a must see for its architecture, the bougainvilleas where you will find the 19th century town hall in neo-classical style. Good Map: go up to the covered market: Mercado Municipal de Abastos.

There you can buy fish, meat by the kilo and bring your dish to the small restaurant which will cook it with your chosen accompaniments. But beware there are few places so you will have to think about booking before your visit.

Visit to be made in Haria : The house of Caesar Manrique in Haria (entrance ticket 10€ ) It was necessary to pay homage to this great man by discovering his environment. This is what this visit promises, to immerse yourself in the artist's home. We regretted that the visit was so short with so few pieces to see.

Now let's go downstairs and take the LZ10 roadAnd it was a thrill to see her sharp turns and the crossing with the buses! But it is to be done because the view is grandiose on the valley.

The restaurant Mirador de los Valles after a big bend is our favorite in this region. The interior decoration and the quality of the food is worth a stop!

The village of Teguise towards Famara the lively surfers' beach.

Let's go now to the village of Teguise: the plaza de san Miguel is the heart of this small village with its church built in 1428 with its bell tower made of red volcanic stone.
The village was deserted when we came and many places to visit were closed. The best way to discover Teguise is to walk through its narrow streets.
You will find pretty villages all along the road to Lanzarote but Teguise is without one of the most amazing of them all.

bell tower village of Teguise Lanzarote
Village Teguise ile canarie

Let's not linger before we hit the road to Famara. Namely, no need to head towards the "urban" side of Famara on the right is only bungalow and villa to accommodate kite-surfers.
Set a course towards Caleta de Famara LZ-402. The road comes out of nowhere, it's like the United States.

Upon the arrival of Famara you will see the road buried under the sand with the dunes bordering it, the vehicles with the surfboards, the wetsuits around, the tone is set: "California Vibes" we are there. A lot of wind on this side of the west coast of the island comes to hit us in the face, ideal for kitesurfing.

This small white village is a bit western, sand everywhere, small bushes roll, small terraced bars/café on the land side where surfers rest. On the other side, a small promenade runs along the waterfront to the fishing port.

The large beach of Famara is almost 3 km long and offers the most paradisiacal spot for water sports. Simple swimmer the current is too dangerous to swim there.

Good unusual plan for scuba diving enthusiasts discover the underwater museum Museo Atlantico . Accessible by scuba diving or snorkeling you will discover no less than 400 sculptures by British artist Jason deCaires Taylor.  Count 51€ with the entrance included. To book a dive > Dive College Lanzarote Find out more about the museum in video > https://youtu.be/oip5M3IJ4bI

On the way to the south of the island between authenticity and creeks

The centre of the island: San Bartolome and the Casa Museo del Campesino

Let's leave the north of the island to join the second half of the island. But first stop at San Bartolomé to go to the ecomuseum a reproduced traditional farm: Casa Museo del Campesino. Right from the start, a surrealist work from 1960 by César Manrique is erected as a tribute to the work of the peasants who transformed this island.

Before entering the heart of this farmhouse, outside, one is dazzled by the whitewashed walls and floors and the green painted woodwork. Inside, there is a charge of 3€ to enter during opening hours from 10am to discover the crafts of the time: pottery, weaving, lace...

Al Campesino Lanzarote

The wine route -> LZ-30 : wine region la Geria

Still heading south, you will cross between the volcanic parks, the black volcanic soil shaped by men in funnels piled up where vines have escaped, allowing an efficient development and protected from the wind.

To taste or buy a bottle, visit the most visited winery in Europe, the Geria.
From there you can see the vine growing in circles of volcanic rock. The vineyard of Géria is mainly composed of Malvasia (Malvasia) and a little Muscat (Moscatel). These delicious full-bodied wines have won numerous international awards.

Colourful volcanic mountain on the road

Opposite on the coast: the seaside resort of Puerto Del Carmen

Just a few minutes from the center of the island, you can go to Puerto del Carmen and will be struck by so many English tourists! A real English seaside resort with restaurants of all cuisines. But we advise you to take a break at the beach of Playa Chica south of Puerto del Carmen ideal for snorkeling with a visible bottom thanks to the crystalline water.

Timanfaya Park and the road that crosses the volcanic rock LZ-67

The road to Timanfaya Park comes out of nowhere! It's worth the detour on its own. Enclosed in the volcanic rock it feels like being on another planet. Although many guides recommend the paid visit to the Park, we did not make this visit because Folk-Travel is off the beaten track.

Once parked, it is necessary to know that the visit continues either by camel (the animals carry every day hundreds of kilos, for us it was out of question to make them undergo that), or by bus of which one cannot go down to make photographs and with dirty windows... we pass our way without regret.

The village El Golfo and the green lake Charco de los Clicos

Lovers of colour you will see a bewildering array of colours here. Once parked, walk along the marked path on the left to see behind the cliff this small green lake "lago verde" due to a micro-algae which has adapted to the extreme salinity of the water.
Red rocks, black stone, this small green lake and the blue sea bordering it is a picture of nature.

Tip it is better to take a picture between 1pm and 5pm so that this small lake is not in the shade.
Did you know that the name los Clicos comes from the edible shell that has since disappeared when an unfortunate man dropped two turtles into this lake...

Then walk around in the small village El Golfo with its unusual little houses by the sea. You can stop for lunch at the restaurant : Casa Rafa, Restaurante del Mar the fish is fresh and the prices are very contained, we feast at the seaside.

Fish Dish with Arrugadas Papas

Los Hervideros and the Janubio Saltworks

Not far away you will find these chasms on the seashore where the waves crash against each other and generate a noise like the belly of a growling monster: Los Hervideros . With the dark volcanic rocks and the white foam of the waves the contrast of colours is striking. You have a large parking lot and then you walk along to see other chasms but beware of the influx of tourists you quickly feel suffocated as in these chasms.
Hervideros

Before leaving for the south and Playa Blanca, make a stop at the Mirador Saltworks where you'll see those salt flats you see from the road. We suggest you stop by to admire the golden luminosity at sunset. The salt is extracted by the evaporation method because this part is well exposed to the winds.

To the seaside resort of Playa Blanca

We arrive in the south of the island in Playa Blanca this seaside resort has all the equipment for those who want to stay there for a week without moving, but we like to move so we will only stop there for one night, you have beautiful beaches all along where it is nice to swim. 

We recommend that you go to lunch at restaurant Gusto a small hippy chic italian restaurant excellent . A little further along the seafront you can swim in warm natural pools . A wild and intimate moment .

A beauty of nature Papagayo

Let's go to the Papagayo beach a few kilometers from the Playa Blanca resort. You will have to pay a right of way of 3 euros per vehicle. But you have to have a strong stomach because despite a suv it is not less than 6 kilometers before arriving at the beach on a rocky sandy track that shakes.

Please note that normally with a rental car you are not insured for driving on unpaved roads.

With the same entrance ticket you can access several beaches such as Playa de las mujeres, caleton de cobre, Playa del pozo and Playa de Papagayo.

Papagayo beach is of crystal clear water and incredible blue.

Our road trip to Lanzarote ends here in order to take the ferry to the island opposite Fuerteventura. Follow our road trip to Fuerteventura here .

What to bring back as a gift from Lanzarote

To please those around you, or yourself, opt for natural and eco-friendly gifts such as aloe-vera products or La Geria wine. We are very fond of this artisanal soap with the scent of aloe vera and wine that still perfumes our bathroom. You can also order some on their shop.

Where to sleep in Lanzarote?

We advise you to stay in Tias. An ideal location to move around the island. We have chosen this superb rural hotel with less than 5 rooms, run by a lovely couple Antonio and MariCruz : Los Lirios Hotel Rural

The interior garden is sublime and is a real place of relaxation. The breakfast is divine served on request typical cheeses etc... We highly recommend it!

We hesitated with this bed and breakfast... Buenavista Lanzarote Country with a lot of charm, too, but it wasn't the same budget.

When to go to Lanzarote?

We left for Lanzarote at the end of September: the sun and the heat were there. You can rarely make a mistake because the climate is ideal all year round. Here are our details for each month of the weather in Lanzarote .

Gastronomy in Lanzarote

The main speciality of the island of Lanzarote is a typical Canary Island dish: the papas arrugadas : from local potatoes cooked in very salty water we eat the skin with which is very thin because attacked by salt.

They are usually accompanied by salsa : mojos from the Portuguese molho which means sauce.
The mojo verde (green sauce) is a sauce based on coriander, green peppers but if you are recklessly tempted the mojo rojo (red sauce) contains strong pimiento.

But who is saying island, also says a gastronomy turned towards the sea with several fish dishes and divine goat cheeses to accompany with a good glass of white wine from Liberia with the character of the island.

Pinning on Pinterest - Teguise, Papagoyo, Lanzarote
Village of Teguise
Lanzarote musee al campesino

Founders of Folk-Travel

⛰️ Globetrotters and landscape photographer. We had a passion in common when we met, that of great landscapes.  It was enough for us to travel all over the world in search of the most beautiful photogenic spots. We take time for details, authenticity while remaining natural. Back from our road-trips we reveal our best places.
 We take time for details and authenticity while remaining natural. Back from our road-trips we reveal our best places.

Article published on : 

S’abonner
Notifier de
guest
0 Commentaires
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Receive our best travel tips and free guide

Folk-Travel.com © 2020. All rights reserved Florence and Xavier

0
Une question? Nous remercier ? c'est icix
()
x
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_USEnglish

Lanzarote à travers notre road trip aux Canaries

Où avons-nous débarqué ? l’Ouest Américain, le Désert d’Oman ? Cette île volcanique à seulement 3 heures d’avion a de quoi étonner : l’île de Lanzarote.  Une île bien moins touristique que les autres îles des Canaries. 

Néanmoins en arrivant on est décalé tout d’abord avec 1 heure de décalage une heure de moins puis les paysages grandioses , l’architecture blanche signé César Manrique, les routes sorties de nulle part plantées dans la roche volcanique noire et des plages d’un bleu profond. On vous présente nos lieux coups de coeur et nos meilleures photos de paysage de Lanzarote à l’occasion de notre road trip de cette île durant 6 jours et de sa voisine Fuerteventura

Notre but n’est pas de vous présenter les lieux touristiques connus Folk-Travel a vocation à sortir des sentiers battus.

Comment aller à Lanzarote ?

Nous avons pris un vol direct pour Lanzarote depuis l’aéroport de Bordeaux avec Easyjet qui  assure 2 vols par semaine le lundi et le jeudi du 18/05/2020 au 22/10/2020. Pour rejoindre Arrecife, notre vol a mis 3 heures.

Pour laisser la voiture au parking pendant nos vacances nous avons utilisé l’application ZenPark , on a ainsi une place dédiée et on retrouve sereinement notre véhicule.

Sur place, nous avons opté pour une location de voiture mais il y a un réseau de bus qui dessert toute l’île ArrecifeBus

Une île où l’impact humain se veut discret

Ce qui frappe en premier lieu c’est le fait de voir de nombreuses œuvres abstraites colorées dès l’arrivée à l’aéroport d’un même artiste signé César Manrique Il faut savoir que sans lui cette île serait qu’un tas de cendres et un champ de ruines comme certains touristes la caractérisait à tort.

Vous ne verrez pas sur Lanzarote de gros complexe hôteliers à plus de 2 étages (excepté le sud de l’île).

Les maisons blanches contrastent avec la roche volcanique noire , certaines avec des bougainvilliers roses rendent le paysage onirique. Ce qui fait de cette île la première à être classée dans son intégralité « Réserve de la biosphère » à l’UNESCO en 1994.

Lanzarote est aussi une île sur terre où le climat est le plus clément tout au long de l’année. Ni trop chaud, ni trop froid et la pluie y est rare. En face du Sahara, l’île peut être sujette à des tempêtes de sable mais cela est peu fréquent.

Quoi faire ou voir à Lanzarote ?

Nous vous présentons notre road trip fait du nord vers le sud de l’île : une location de voiture est primordiale, les routes sont dans un état remarquable, vraiment, c’est un bonheur de conduire à travers ces paysages à couper le souffle.

Pour louer une voiture à Lanzarote, nous avons choisi l’agence local de Lanzarote Cicar , ce qui permet facilement de prendre le véhicule au nord et de le laisser au sud à une autre agence.

Nous avons ainsi laissé le véhicule à playa Blanca avant de mettre le ferry pour la seconde partie de notre road trip : la découverte d’une autre ile des canaries : Fuerteventura, retrouver notre article prochainement.

À noter : – en louant le véhicule vous n’êtes pas assuré sur les routes non goudronnées. Ce qui est le cas de la majorité des lieux à voir comme Papagoyo (vous êtes prévenus).
– optez plutôt pour un SUV votre confort sera meilleur surtout sur certaines pistes sinueuses.

Visiter le nord de l'île : criques et villages de Lanzarote

Le Mirador del Rio

Ce point de vue est le plus haut de l’île et permet d’admirer en face la magnifique île de la Graciosa . Dès le matin, l’île de la Graciosa est baignée de soleil avec des eaux d’un bleu turquoise et des salines au pied du mirador.

Il n’est pas nécessaire de se rendre dans la partie payante (4,50€) , on peut admirer gratuitement sur le côté gauche la vue. Étant le point le plus haut, il est très venteux et le vent frais peut vite devenir frisquet surtout quand on est peu couvert car en bas la température est douce.

Sur le chemin , vous pouvez faire le Jardin de Cactus à Guatiza , mais l’afflux touristique nous y a fait renoncer. Tarif 2019 : 5,80€

Ile de la Graciosa

Plages Translucides: Caleton Blanco

À ne pas rater les plages de piscines naturelles en partant d’Orzola en premier vous trouverez la plage Caleton Blanco puis celle de Caleta del Mojon Blanco . Notre coup de coeur a été pour Caleton Blanco ! Le sable blanc rend l’eau comme laiteuse d’un blanc immaculé et transparente, du jamais vu. Peu de profondeur on peut marcher loin idéal donc avec des enfants.

On vous conseille d’y venir tôt car le parking est vite pris d’assaut tout comme les châteaux de pierre volcanique pour s’abriter du vent allongé sur le sable.

La maison fleurie Casa Carmelina

Situé sur la côte Est au-dessus d’Arrieta, Punta Mujeres abrite deux piscines naturelles mais aussi une petite maison colorée avec son jardin végétal vertical suspendu : Casa Carmelina .

Cette petite maison blanche contraste avec sa peinture verte et les plantes suspendues. Tenu par une dame âgée, soyez respectueux du lieu et des locaux ! Ne touchez pas , admirez avec respect.

Les piscines naturelles à Punta Mujeres

Juste en amont de la maison végétale vous avez une grande piscine naturelle dont l’eau rentre avec la marée et se laisse réchauffer par le soleil. 

Le village aux mille palmiers : Haria

Commencer par longer la place Léon y Castillo bordée par des palmiers, des lauriers roses et eucalyptus. Puis dirigez-vous vers la place de la constitution est à voir absolument pour son architecture, les bougainvilliers où se trouve l’hôtel de ville du 19e siècle d’un style néo-classique. Bon Plan : remontez vers le marché couvert : Mercado Municipal de Abastos.

Là vous pouvez acheter le poisson, viande au kilo et apportez votre plat au petit restaurant qui la cuisinera avec vos accompagnements choisis. Mais attention il y a peu de places donc il vous faudra penser à réserver avant votre visite.

Visite à faire à Haria : La maison de César Manrique à Haria (billet d’entrée 10€ ) Il fallait bien rentrer hommage à ce grand monsieur en découvrant son environnement. C’est ce que promet cette visite pour s’immerger dans une demeure de l’artiste. Nous avons regretté que la visite soit si courte peu de pièces à voir.

Descendons maintenant en prenant la route LZ10, et autant dire qu’elle nous a fait frissonner par ses virages serrés et le croisement avec les bus ! Mais elle est à faire car la vue est grandiose sur la vallée.

Le restaurant Mirador de los Valles après un grand virage est notre coup de cœur de cette région. La décoration intérieure et la qualité des mets vaut l’arrêt !

Le village de Teguise vers Famara la plage mouvementée des surfeurs.

Dirigeons nous maintenant vers le village de Teguise : la plaza de san Miguel est le coeur de ce petit village avec son église édifiée en 1428 avec son clocher fait en pierre volcanique rouges.
Le village était désert lors de notre venue et de nombreux lieux à visiter étaient clos. La meilleure façon de découvrir Teguise est de se promener à pied dans ses ruelles.
Vous trouverez de jolis village tout le long de la route de Lanzarote mais Teguise est sans l’un des plus étonnants de tous.

clocher village de Teguise Lanzarote
Village Teguise ile canarie

Ne nous attardons pas avant de prendre la route vers Famara. A savoir, inutile de vous diriger vers le côté “urbain” de Famara sur la droite figure que des bungalow et villa pour loger les kite-surfeurs.
Mettez le cap vers Caleta de Famara LZ-402. La route sort de nulle part on se croirait aux Etats-Unis.

À l’arrivée de Famara vous verrez la route ensevelie sous le sable avec les dunes qui la borde, les véhicules avec les planches de surf, les combinaisons autours, le ton est donné : “Californie Vibes” nous y sommes. Énormément de vent de ce côté de la côte ouest de l’île vient nous frapper le visage, idéal pour les kites surfs .

Ce petit village blanc fait un peu western, du sable partout, des petits buissons roulent, des petits bars/café en terrasse côté terre où se reposent les surfeurs. De l’autre côté, une petite promenade longe le front de mer jusqu’au port de pêche.

La grande plage de Famara fait quasiment 3 km de long et offre le spot le plus paradisiaque pour les sports nautiques. Simple nageur le courant est trop dangereux pour s’y baigner.

Bon plan Insolite pour les passionnés de plongée sous-marine découvrez le musée sous-marin Museo Atlantico . Accessible en plongée avec bouteilles ou snorkeling vous découvrirez pas moins de 400 sculptures de l’artiste britannique Jason deCaires Taylor.  Comptez 51€ avec l’entrée incluse. Pour réserver une plongée > Dive College Lanzarote Pour en savoir plus sur le musée en vidéo > https://youtu.be/oip5M3IJ4bI

En route vers le sud de l’île entre authenticité et criques

Le centre de l’île : San Bartolome et la Casa Museo del Campesino

Quittons le nord de l’île pour rejoindre la seconde moitié de l’île. Mais avant arrêtez-vous à San Bartolomé pour vous rendre à l’écomusée une ferme traditionnelle reproduite : Casa Museo del Campesino. Dès l’entrée, une œuvre surréaliste de 1960 par César Manrique est érigée en hommage au travail des paysans qui ont transformé cette île.

Avant de rentrer dans le cœur de cette ferme, à l’extérieur, on est ébloui par les murs et sols blanchis à la chaux blanche et les menuiseries peintes en vert. À l’intérieur, l’entrée est payante comptez 3€ pour y accéder aux heures d’ouvertures à partir de 10h pour découvrir les métiers de l’époque : poterie, tissage, dentelles..

Al Campesino Lanzarote

La route du vin -> LZ-30 : région viticole la Geria

Toujours en direction du sud, vous traverserez entre les parcs volcaniques, la terre volcanique noire façonnée par les hommes en entonnoirs amassés où y sont enfuis des pieds de vigne permettant ainsi un développement efficace et protégé du vent.

Pour déguster ou acheter une bouteille , faites un tour à la bodega la plus visitée d’Europe celle de la Geria.
De là vous pouvez voir les cultures de vignes en cercles de pierre volcanique. Le vignoble de la Géria est principalement composé de cépage de Malvoisie (malvasia) et d’un peu de cépage Muscat (moscatel). Ces délicieux vins corsés ont gagné de nombreux prix internationaux.

Montagne colorée volcanique sur la route

En face sur la côte : la station balnéaire de Puerto Del Carmen

A quelques minutes du centre de l’île , vous pouvez vous rendre à Puerto del Carmen et serez frappé de voir autant de touristes anglais ! Une vraie station balnéaire anglaise avec des restaurants de toute cuisine. Mais nous vous conseillons de faire un break à la plage de Playa Chica au sud de Puerto del Carmen idéal pour le snorkeling avec un fond visible grâce à l’eau cristalline.

Le Parc Timanfaya et la route qui traverse la roche volcanique la LZ-67

La route pour se rendre au Parc Timanfaya sort tout droit de nulle part ! Rien qu’à elle seule elle vaut le détour. Enclavée dans la roche volcanique on a l’impression d’être sur une autre planète. Bien que beaucoup de guides conseillent de faire la visite payante au Parc, nous n’avons pas fait cette visite car Folk-Travel sort des sentiers battus .

Une fois stationné, il faut savoir que la visite se poursuit soit à dromadaire (les animaux portent chaque jour des centaines de kilos, pour nous c’était hors de question de leur faire subir ça), ou en autocar dont on ne peut descendre faire des photos et avec des vitres sales..  nous passons notre chemin sans regret.

Le village El Golfo et le lac vert Charco de los Clicos

Amoureux des couleurs vous verrez ici un panel de couleurs ahurissant. Une fois stationné, longer sur la gauche le chemin balisé pour voir derrière la falaise ce petit lac vert “ lago verde “ dû à une micro-algue qui s’est adaptée à la salinité extrême de l’eau.
Des roches rouges, de la pierre noire, ce petit lac vert et la mer bleue qui la borde est un tableau de la nature.

Astuce il vaut mieux prendre en photo entre 13h et 17h pour ne pas que ce petit lac soit à l’ombre.
Le saviez-vous ? le nom los Clicos vient du coquillage comestible qui a depuis disparu quand un malencontreux a lâché 2 tortues dans ce lac..

Baladez-vous ensuite dans le petit village El Golfo avec ses petites habitations atypiques au bord de mer. Vous pouvez faire une halte pour déjeuner au restaurant : Casa Rafa, Restaurante del Mar le poisson est frais et les prix très contenus, on se régale au bord de mer.

Plat de Poisson avec les Papas Arrugadas

Los Hervideros et les Salines de Janubio

Pas loin vous trouverez ces gouffres en bord de mer où viennent se fracasser contre les vagues générant ainsi un bruit grondement comme le ventre d’un monstre grognant : Los Hervideros . Avec les roches volcaniques sombres et l’écume blanche des vagues le contraste des couleurs est saisissant . Vous avez un grand parking puis ensuite vous marchez le long pour voir d’autres gouffres mais attention à l’afflux de touristes on se sent vite étouffé comme dans ces gouffres.
Hervideros

Avant de partir pour le sud et Playa Blanca, faites une halte aux salines de Mirador où vous verrez ces étendus de sel que vous voyez depuis la route. Nous vous conseillons d’y passer pour admirer la luminosité dorée au coucher de soleil. Le sel est extrait par la méthode d’évaporation car cette partie est bien exposée aux vents.

Vers la station balnéaire de Playa Blanca

Nous arrivons au sud de l’île à Playa Blanca cette station balnéaire a tout l’équipement pour ceux qui veulent y rester une semaine sans bouger, mais nous on aime bouger donc nous y ferons qu’une halte d’une nuit, vous avez de très belles plages tout le long où il est agréable de s’y baigner. 

Nous vous recommandons d’aller déjeuner au restaurant Gusto un petit resto hippy chic italien excellent . Un peu plus loin, au bord de mer vous pourrez vous baigner dans des piscines naturelles chaudes . Un moment sauvage et intimiste .

Une beauté de la nature Papagayo

Partons vers la plage de Papagayo à quelques kilomètres de la station Playa Blanca . Il vous faudra vous acquitter d’un droit de passage de 3 euros par véhicule . Mais il faut avoir l’estomac bien accroché car malgré un suv il y a pas moins de 6 kilomètres avant d’arriver à la plage sur une piste sableuse rocheuse qui secoue.

Pour info normalement avec une voiture de location vous n’êtes pas assuré pour rouler sur les routes non goudronnés .

Avec le même ticket d’entrée vous pouvez accéder à plusieurs plages comme la grande plage de Playa de las mujeres, caleton de cobre , Playa del pozo et Playa de Papagayo.

La plage de Papagayo est d’une eau cristalline et d’un bleu incroyable.

Notre road trip à Lanzarote s’achève donc ici afin de prendre le ferry pour rejoindre l’île en face Fuerteventura. Suivre notre road trip à Fuerteventura ici .

Que rapporter en cadeau de Lanzarote

Pour faire plaisir autour de vous, ou à vous-même, optez pour des cadeaux naturels et écolos comme des produits à base d’aloe-vera ou du vin de La Geria. Gros coup de coeur pour ce savon artisanal à l’odeur d’aloe-vera et de vin qui embaume encore notre salle de bain. Vous pouvez aussi en commander sur leur boutique.

Où dormir à Lanzarote ?

Nous vous conseillons de vous loger à Tias. Un emplacement idéal pour se déplacer sur tout l’île. Nous avons opté pour ce superbe hôtel rural de moins de 5 chambres, tenu par un couple adorable Antonio et MariCruz : Los Lirios Hotel Rural

Le jardin intérieur est sublime c’est un vrai lieu de détente. Le petit déjeuner est divin servi à la demande fromages typiques etc.. On vous le recommande fortement !

Nous avons hésité avec cette chambre d’hôtes Buenavista Lanzarote Country avec beaucoup de charme aussi mais ce n’était pas le même budget.

Quand partir à Lanzarote ?

Nous sommes partis à Lanzarote fin septembre : le soleil et la chaleur étaient au rendez-vous. On peut rarement se tromper car le climat est idéal toute l’année. Voici notre détail par mois du climat météo à Lanzarote .

La gastronomie à Lanzarote

La principale spécialité  de l’île de Lanzarote est un met typique des Canaries : les papas arrugadas : des pommes de terres locales cuite dans de l’eau très salée  on mange la peau avec qui est très fine car attaquée par le sel.

Elles sont habituellement accompagnées de sauce : mojos issue du portugais molho qui signifie sauce.
Le mojo verde (sauce verte) est une sauce à base de coriandre, poivrons verts  mais si vous êtes téméraire tentés le mojo rojo (sauce rouge) contient des pimiento forts.

Mais qui dit île , dit aussi une gastronomie tournée vers la mer avec plusieurs plats de poissons et des fromages de chèvres divins à accompagner avec un bon verre de vin blanc de la Géria au caractère de l’île.

Epingler sur Pinterest - Teguise, Papagoyo, Lanzarote
Village de Teguise
Lanzarote musee al campesino

Fondateurs de Folk-Travel

⛰️ Globe-trotters et photographe de paysages. Nous avons eu une passion en commun lors de notre rencontre celle des grands paysages.  Il nous en fallait pas plus pour voyager un peu partout à la recherche des plus beaux spots photogéniques.
 Nous prenons le temps aux détails, à l’authenticité tout en restant naturels. De retour de nos road-trips on vous dévoile nos meilleurs endroits.

Article publié le : 

S’abonner
Notifier de
guest
0 Commentaires
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Une question? Nous remercier ? c'est icix
()
x
fr_FRFrench
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrench